10 BJP MLAs in Arunachal Pradesh elected unopposed

Arunachal Pradesh: Ten Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in Arunachal Pradesh have been elected unopposed to the state’s Legislative Assembly, as announced after the nomination withdrawal deadline passed on Saturday.

This development comes ahead of the state’s upcoming polls for its 60-seat Legislative Assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies scheduled for April 19.

With these 10 BJP candidates securing their seats unchallenged, the focus now shifts to the remaining 50 Assembly seats where polling will be conducted. In six Assembly constituencies, only one nomination was filed, while in four others, opposition candidates withdrew their papers.

Notable among the BJP candidates elected unopposed are Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, and Itanagar MLA Techi Kaso. The BJP has fielded candidates in all 60 seats, while the Indian National Congress is contesting in only 13 seats.

For the two parliamentary constituencies, there are 14 candidates in total, with eight competing for the Arunachal West parliamentary constituency and six for the Arunachal East constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *