Congress wins Karnataka Assembly Elections

JNS: Congress gained an overwhelming majority in the Karnataka Assembly Elections.

The Election Commission of India reports that the Congress has won 135 out of 224 Assembly seats and is in the lead in 1 constituency. The governing BJP won 65 seats. JD(S) placed third, gaining 19 seats, while other parties won four.

By nearly 36,000 votes, outgoing Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai defeats Congress candidate Pathan Yasir Ahmed Khan to take the Shiggaon seat. Former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar, who joined the Congress before the elections, was defeated by a margin of over 34,000 ballots on the Hubbali – Dharwad Central seat by the BJP candidate.

By around 16,000 votes, former Chief Minister and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy wins the Channapatna Assembly seat. Siddaramaiah, the former Chief Minister and candidate for the Congress defeats V. Somanna by 46,162 votes to secure the Varuna seat.

There were 2,615 candidates in the race. In the outgoing Assembly, the ruling BJP held 116 seats, followed by the Congress with 69, the JD(S) with 29, the BSP with 1, and the Independents with 2 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *