ECI orders repolling in 6 Manipur Polling Stations on April 30

JNS: The Election Commission of India has declared polling at six polling stations in the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency as “void” in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

Fresh polling will be held in these stations on Tuesday (April 30), the Chief Electoral Officer of Manipur said in a press release.

Polling was held on Friday at 848 polling stations in 13 of the 28 Assembly segments under the Outer Manipur Parliamentary seat.

The 15 other Assembly segments had voted in the first phase on April 19 along with the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat.

Manipur Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Pradeep Kumar Jha, citing the Election Commission order, appealed to the voters to come out in large numbers to vote in these six polling stations on Tuesday.

Election officials said that various disturbances occurred in these six polling stations on Friday, prompting the EC to order fresh polling on Tuesday.

Nearly 82 percent of voters exercised their franchise on Friday in the remaining parts of the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *