India crush Pakistan by 9 wickets

india-blind-cricketIndia beat Pakistan by a staggering nine-wicket margin to defend their T20 Blind Cricket World Cup title, in Bangalore on Sunday.

India made it to the final with eight victories in nine games, losing only to Pakistan in the group stages at Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Pakistan, on the other hand, were unbeaten throughout.

Electing to bat at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Badar Munir’s half-century helped Pakistan to a commanding 197 for 9 from their allotted overs. Munir laid the platform with a 58-run partnership with his fellow opener Muhammad Jamil (24) and Amir Ishfaq (20) for the third wicket stand, worth 60 runs, that took their side to 118 for 1 in the 11th over.

This was followed by a brief period of lull as Ketan Patel and Mohammad Jaffar Igbal pulled things back for the hosts. The duo took two wickets apiece in the middle overs that reduced Pakistan to 141 for 5. Late cameos from lower order batsmen Riasat Khan (16), Muhammad Zafar (16) and Mati Ullah (15 not out) in the death overs propelled Pakistan to 197.

India faced little difficulty in overcoming the target, courtesy an aggressive 99 from opener Jayaramaiah. Ajay Kumar Reddy, at the other end, chipped in with a 31-ball 43 before being run out in the 11th over when they were still 88 shy of the target.

Unperturbed, Jayaramaiah carried on and put on a 51-run partnership with Ketan that all but sealed the fate of the game. By the time the No. 3 batsman retired hurt on 26, India needed another 37 off 32. The wicketkeeper-batsman, who found the fence 15 times in his 60-ball effort, was left stranded one short of a what would have been a memorable ton as the hosts overhauled the target with 14 balls to spare.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *