Mohan Charan Majhi to be the new Chief Minister of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJP leader Mohan Charan Majhi has been unanimously elected as the new chief minister of Odisha by the BJP legislature party. The decision was made in the presence of two central observers, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav.

Majhi, aged 52, is a four-time MLA from Keonjhar, having been elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly in 2000, 2004, 2019, and 2024. Upon his election, Majhi expressed his commitment to fulfilling the expectations of the people who voted the BJP into power for the first time in Odisha.

The BJP has also appointed two deputy chief ministers: senior leaders Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida. Singh Deo, a six-time MLA and former minister, represents the Patnagarh Assembly constituency. Parida is a first-time MLA representing the Nimapara Assembly constituency.

Majhi’s political career, spanning over two decades, has seen him connect deeply with the masses, especially in tribal regions, gaining him significant popularity. As a four-time MLA, he possesses a thorough understanding of the state’s governance and has played a pivotal role in shaping BJP’s regional policies.

Majhi is set to succeed Biju Janata Dal chief Naveen Patnaik, who held the chief minister position for a record 24 years. This evening, Chief Minister-elect Majhi met Governor Raghubar Das at the Raj Bhawan, presenting a letter of support from 81 MLAs, including three independents, to stake his claim to form the next government.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place tomorrow evening at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar. The event will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union Ministers Jual Oram and Ashwini Vaishnaw, along with chief ministers from several BJP-ruled states.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *