Presidential election on 17 July

Jharkhand MirrorThe Election Commission announced on Wednesday that if elections are required to choose the next President of India, they will take place on 17 July. The nomination process for the same will begin from 14 June, with the issuance of a notification; 28 June is the deadline day for submitting nominations, while candidates have until 1 July to withdraw their names. If there is consensus among parties over the choice of president, there may not be an election.

The present President Pranab Mukherjee’s term will end on 24 July.

The EC also said that if there is no consensus among the ruling NDA and the Opposition parties, the number of serious candidates in the fray will be clear by the evening of 1 July. Counting of votes will take place in New Delhi on 20 July.

According to the report published in different media, the names being considered include Cabinet ministers M Venkaiah Naidu, Sushma Swaraj, Thawar Chand Gehlot and Jharkhand governor Draupadi Murmu. Meanwhile, Congress president Sonia Gandhi has been negotiating with other opposition parties to decide on a joint candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *